Christmas Traditions

Happy Christmas, painted by Johansen Viggo

Happy Christmas, painted by Johansen Viggo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My favourite part of Christmas is all the long flowing traditions I have with my family. Usually every year I plan one night to watch my favourite movies and eat chocolate until I am sick to my stomach, decorating the tree, putting the star or small plastic figurine on the top (don’t ask).

My parents are divorced and I have a boyfriend now so the traditions are changing. It is hard to make time for four Christmas’ and the truth is it will probably never happen. Over the years some of our traditions have lacked or changed because of people growing up. When you get older you get used to having to make those types of changes. This year I’ll be working throughout the holiday season so more compromises will have to be made. This is so important for children. These are the things they will remember when they are older, not how many toys they got.

christmas 2007

christmas 2007 (Photo credit: paparutzi)

No matter how busy, hectic or poor you are during your holiday season take the time to celebrate your favourite traditions. Maybe they won’t be exactly the same every year. People change and move and grow constantly.  Don’t be afraid of making new traditions :).

Some ideas might be:

– Christmas Crafts

– Decorating the tree

– Cutting down their own Christmas tree

– Sledding

– Baking

– Snowmen

English: Santa Claus with a little girl Espera...

English: Santa Claus with a little girl Esperanto: Patro Kristnasko kaj malgranda knabino Suomi: Joulupukki ja pieni tyttö (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

– Carols

-Movies

2 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions

  1. Pingback: My favourite Christmas traditions | Easy Being Mom

  2. Pingback: Other Countries Christmas Traditions. | Happiness Campaign

Leave a comment